How it Works
What HurryPress is all about
HurryPress is a membership/subscription management plugin for Wordpress. It is installed on your website to provide the following functionality:
- User registration
- Processes customer payments and keeps track of them
- Protects posts, pages, website folders, downloads, and other kinds of content - making it available for subscribed users only
- HurryAffiliate - Affiliate program management
- HurryDesk - Simple Help Desk functionality to provide easy communication between customers and site administrators
- Manages opt-in e-mail lists and newsletters and can send mass e-mails to customers
To order a subscription or product within HurryDesk, the user must complete and submit a signup form or log into an existing account. Once the customer presses the signup button, HurryPress creates the following records in its database:
- pending user record
- pending invoice record
Note: At this point the new user account is "pending" and not yet activated. Until the payment is completed, the user will not be able to view or download protected content. He can, however, login to the member area to make a new payment if the first payment attempt failed
Once these records are created, HurryPress redirects the customer to the payment system to make the actual payment and passes the payment amount and subscription settings to it. The payment gateway (eg. PayPal or Stripe) checks the information entered and completes the transaction.
- When the transaction is completed successfully, the system will display a confirmation of payment. At this point the system sends confirmation of the payment to the HurryPress and the user's status is changed from "Pending" to "Active". The user will receive a welcome email with details about his/her username and possibly other information (the e-mail template can be customized by the site administrator).
- If the transaction fails, the failed payment page will be displayed, and most payment systems will redirect the customer to the HurryPress "cancelled" payment page, where the user can choose another method of payment and attempt to subscribe again.
Payment system upfront of HurryPress
Not all payment system support it.
- User make purchase on paysystem site
- Paysystem (eg. PayPal, ClickBank, JVZoo etc.) send IPN (Instant Payment Notification) to HurryPress
- HurryPress create new customer and payment based on IPN data and add necessary access to him. HurryPress generate password for customer as well at this stage.
- Upon creating a new customer record, HurryPress sends an Signup Email with login and password to him.
- User receive Signup Email with his login and password and can use it to access your website.
Depending on the product settings configured by the site administrator, user access may expire. For example, the site administrator may choose to sell 30-day subscriptions for $10.99. Then, if the subscription is not recurring, the customer record will expire. The user will be marked as Expired, and protected content access will be revoked. The user record is not deleted after expiration, so the customer may return to the website, log into his/her HurryPress account, and renew their subscription - by placing a new order.
Many payment processors offer the ability to set up "recurring" billing. This way the customer is billed automatically for the amount configured for each time period (e.g. $20 every month). HurryPress was designed to handle recurring billing, so these payments will be correctly processed. Most payment processors report to HurryPress when a successful recurring payment has been made and HurryPress extends the user's subscription accordingly. In this case the entire membership management process becomes automated.
Recurring Billing Cancellations
Sometimes a user may want to cancel or unsubscribe from a recurring subscription. Cancellation can be done by via a link in the HurryPress members area, or at the payment processor's website (for example PayPal provides the ability to cancel recurring subscriptions from within the PayPal user's account). In this case, HurryPress will be notified about the cancellation and the customer's invoice will be marked as "Cancelled". It does not mean, however, that the user loses access immediately. The user will still have access to protected content until the paid period expires.
Refunds and Chargebacks
In the event refunds or chargebacks are reported to HurryPress, HurryPress will automatically keep records of this and revoke customer access to protected content.